Lilly Girl

Although I try not to be too frilly, silly, or fussy with the kids’ clothes, I do like them to look nice, and that probably has a lot to do with the fact that I was dressed in hand-me-downs from my older cousins (Thanks Stacy and Sheila!) and items from Pic-N-Save and Sears. We were POOR! And, even now, I enjoy exchanging clothes with friends. Holidays are especially important to me, though, and I will admittedly splurge.

I have had a lot of people ask me recently where I shop for children’s clothes. Honestly, most of the time, I go to Target. Their clothes are cute, affordable and durable. Though, I will say, it is becoming harder to find even play clothes for Mason as he grows older.

He prefers Polo. I have been dressing him in that brand since he was a baby. The best buys, of course, can be found at Marshall’s and T.J. Maxx. For dress clothes, I prefer Bailey Boys brand, Sperry and Georgia Boots.

Julia has become known for her smock dresses and hair bows. My favorite store for her (and Mason) is Mary Madison Madison Boutique. It is located in downtown Thomasville, and has an awesome website. I also like Frills and Freckles, located nearby.

The truth is, I also shop a lot at consignment stores. I found Miss Julia’s ice cream birthday party smock last year for only $12! It looked brand new.

IMG_3690.JPG
Instagram is also a great source for re-sale items. A few weeks ago, I bought two beautiful outfits for Jules from one of my favorite bloggers, Pearls and Grace. If you have never read her posts, please treat yourself. Her sweet words are good for the soul. I just love the Lilly Pulitzer outfit I got from her. It is a little big now, but it will be perfect by next Spring.

IMG_2039.JPG

IMG_2038.JPG

One thought on “Lilly Girl

  1. Pic n Save – a big part of my childhood! What I didn’t appreciate back then is all the love my mom put into all the handmade clothes she prepared for me. I really didn’t understand why I couldn’t have what “all” my friends had. As a mom now, I get it. She was definitely doing the best she could, and her sewing skills were phenomenal. Lesson learned for sure.

Leave a Reply

