A Reminder About Love

This past year was devastating and stressful, as we dealt with the sudden death of my Mom and the aftermath of trying to settle her estate.  Unfortunately, as we approach our ten-year anniversary, Mike and I are facing the fact that our marriage has been dealt the most damage.  The stress of the past twelve months just scratched the surface of our problems, which have a clear beginning and source, and which stem back to the start of our relationship.  Those who know us best know the cause.  That is not important.  The focus right now for us is that we are reconnecting, spending more intimate time together and with God in prayer, and that we are in counseling with a Christian professional– something I highly recommend to everyone.  For an hour weekly, we get to unwind and vent, and it feels wonderful.

A few weeks ago, I took my wedding rings to get resized (I am embarrassed to say I had to go up 1/2 a size…but 10 years and two kids has taken its toll….the jeweler kindly said that pregnancy makes our knuckles spread).  I hardly ever take the rings off, and the jeweler pointed out the inscription on the inside of my wedding bands.  I had not forgotten the inscription, but I had not read the scripture or prayed over it in quite some time.  It was as if God was gently reminding me about love, including His, and the vows that I took in front of 200 of our closest family and friends.

Song of Solomon 8:6-7

King James Version (KJV)

Set me as a seal upon thine heart, as a seal upon thine arm: for love is strong as death; jealousy is cruel as the grave: the coals thereof are coals of fire, which hath a most vehement flame.

Many waters cannot quench love, neither can the floods drown it: if a man would give all the substance of his house for love, it would utterly be contemned.

 I also found this beautiful print on clearance at Hobby Lobby that same week.  It depicts 1 Corinthians 13.  I hung it just inside our front door.  God has a way of speaking to me in amazing candor.  I pray that I always heed His Word.

20140216-161811.jpg

20140216-162042.jpg

One thought on “A Reminder About Love

Leave a Reply

